Why I’m Becoming a Prepper

Or at least, preparing for an uncertain future

Toby Hazlewood
10 min readSep 15, 2021

Last week our power went down without warning. I was working at home as usual when the radio went off and security alarms around the neighbourhood started shrieking. After the WiFi dropped I finally took notice.

Power cuts happen infrequently where I live, the power usually comes back on within an hour and life resumes. But last week was different. The previous day I’d started listening to the audiobook ‘Lights Out: A Cyberattack, a Nation Unprepared, Surviving the Aftermath by former ABC news anchor, Ted Koppel, and the outage found me in a twitchy mood.

For a few moments my imagination ran away with me. I wondered if it was down to something innocuous (as usual) or whether instead there’d been a catastrophic cyber attack on our nation’s power grid.

Within three hours the electricity came back on. It had been due to the failing of a high-voltage line which had taken out power to 3,000 homes in the area.

But it could have been hackers. Really it could.

Times are changing

My imagination got the better of me that day and it’s been happening a lot lately.

In part that’s likely due to reading books like ‘Lights Out’ and This Is How

--

--

Toby Hazlewood

A writer, dad and husband sharing his thoughts, wins and losses to help and inspire others. https://tobyhazlewood.substack.com/